Light Tomato Sauce – Easy and Delicious!

 

For years I tried making marinara sauce with canned tomatoes. I tried whole ones. I tried crushed ones. I tried cubed ones. I tried onions. I tried pinches of sugar. But no matter how hard I tried, I almost always ended up with a sauce that was too acidic – even after hours and hours of cooking. I think some of the problems I encountered stemmed from following bad advice, including cooking the garlic before adding the tomatoes.

Though I still haven’t perfected my marinara sauce recipe, I have come up with a really easy, fool proof recipe for fresh tomato sauce that is so delicious, I haven’t even wanted to go back to the canned stuff!

Recipe:

5-6 tomatoes – cubed (plum or vine work best)
3 cloves of garlic
1-2 leaves of basil – ripped (optional)
3 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

– Preheat sauce pan on medium. Add the olive oil.

– Carefully add the tomatoes into the pan, then add the garlic, basil, and salt and pepper. The salt will help the tomatoes break down.

– Cook on medium for about 30-45 minutes, or until the tomatoes have all broken down and a sauce had formed.

– Cook your favorite pasta a minute less than package directions, drain, then add to sauce and cook for another minute.

– Serve and enjoy. Makes about 4 portions (approx half lb of pasta).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 21:33:12

    This looks and sounds incredibly delicious.

    Reply

  2. K
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:53:02

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

